Quick Win : Allow multiple contributors on Drop-off Library items

win

Hello everyone,

Today in the Quick Win series, I will talk about a problem that may arise when working with the Content Organizer feature.

Problematic

As a reminder, the content organizer allows to classify a document based on rules. These rules are based on the metadata value and allow you to move the document to the right place.

This feature is really useful but has strange behavior.

When a person edits the properties of a document in the drop-off library and does not complete the information necessary to be classified, the document is no longer visible to other users!

Cause

When a document is added to the library, it naturally inherits permissions associated with that list.

0102

When a user edits the properties of this document, the document continues the process but remains in the drop-off library. However, an additional action is done by SharePoint => Break permissions, remove existing one and give access directly to the current user!

03

It has more than once happened that the business requirement is that several people can process a document, and potentially add each some information, before the document is finally classified.

Resolution

Several solutions are possible since this comes from a business need. In the first case, we could think of using several libraries with workflows to transfer from one library to another but it seems to me “overkill”.

I prefer to opt for the simple solution, keep the document in the drop-off library and prevent SharePoint from breaking the security! To do this, the simplest solution is to do it before it! Indeed, if the document has permissions broken, SharePoint no longer removes the permissions associated with the document!

To put this in place, SharePoint designer is our friend!

NB : I know that SharePoint Designer will not last long but currently it is a solution that works both On Premise and Online.

Steps

Create a SharePoint 2010 workflow

04

Use an Impersonation Step and remove the default step

05

Add Action « Replace List Item Permissions »

06

Give the contribution permission to the people who will use the list

07

Specify that the action should take place on the current item

08

Go to workflow settings

09

Configure the workflow to start automatically when updating a document

10.png

Publish workflow

11

When the data in a document are changed and submitted, the workflow will update the permissions with what you have specified

12

 

NB: Of course, once at destination the document will no longer have the specific permissions set in the drop-off.

Hoping this helps

Christopher

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s