Today I’ll talk about a SharePoint operation a little unknown.
It can happen to people wanting to make a “unpublished” on a document to have the error message “Sorry, this site hasn’t been shared with you” even if they are the authors of the document.
This happens if you set up the “content approval” on your list. Indeed, once the document is approved, you cannot “unpublish” this version of the document.
If you have versioning enabled and you want to revert to a previous version, follow this process:
- In the Document menu, click “…” and then “Version history”
- Select the previous version and click on “restore”.
- Re-perform the validation process.
When you think it is normal not to be able to edit a document that has been approved. However having the “Unpublish” button while you cannot do it is confusing.
Hope this helps.