Unable to download pictures from Microsoft Teams discussion

teams

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about a misleading feature of Microsoft Teams.

On Teams, you can send and receive documents and pictures in a conversation.

tdf01

 

If you want to keep a copy of the received document, you can easily download it

  • either from the channel itself

tdf02

  • Or from the file when it is in “Edit” mode

tdf03

When you do that, you can see an arrow icon on the “Files” tab on the left of your application.

tdf04

When the download is over, the arrow become an “ok/active/confirm” icon (not sure of the actual name of this icon…)

tdf05

 

That’s cool, ok but only for document and not for pictures.

When you try to interact with a picture, you don’t have the “Download” button.

tdf06

 

If you want to download a picture, you first need to open it and then hit the “Download” button

tdf07bis

And then, nothing happens!

So you hit the button again, and again, and again…

In fact, something did happen, but it was not shown to you. Close the picture and then go to the “Files” tab on the left

tdf08

Then you need to click the “Downloads” link to see your files!

tdf09.png

You will have a file “MicrosoftTeams-image” for each time you clicked the “Download” when the picture was full-screen.

So, you finally have found your pictures even if:

  • Nothing change on the screen when you hit the “Download” on full-screen picture
  • Nothing change on the “Files” tab icon during the download process
  • Nothing was displayed in the default “Recent” section of the “Files” tab

 

Hoping this helps!

Christopher

 

 

Advertisements

Download all files from library

pnp logo

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll share a little PowerShell script I made some time ago. It allows you to download all files of a single library, looping through all subfolders. This script use PNP PowerShell .

It was done for Office365 but should work the same way for onpremise. You just need to update the parameter on the top and run it. It will prompt you for your credentials to access the site and then download all the files to the specified directory (creating it if it doesn’t exist)

Hoping this helps!

Christopher

 

Quick Win – Contribute No Delete

win

Hello everyone.

Today I will talk about a specific configuration of the permissions

Problematic

As an administrator of my site,

I want my members to be able to add files / items but not to be able to delete them

In order to avoid unwanted deletion of information.

Reason

The standard permission level for members is “Edit”. This level of permission is sometimes replaced by the lower level “Contribute”. These rights allow members to participate in the addition of information to the site but also by default to delete the content.

Contribute no delete (1)

Resolution

To resolve this issue, we will create a new permission level that we will call “Contribute – No Delete”. We will apply it to the member group at the site level.

Go in the site settings

Contribute no delete (2)

Under “Users and Permissions”, click on “Site Permissions”

Contribute no delete (3)

On the ribbon, click on the “Permission Levels” links

Contribute no delete (4)

Choose the permission level “Contribute”

Contribute no delete (5)

Scroll down and click on the “Copy Permission Level” button

Contribute no delete (6)

Add the name “Contribute – No Delete”, set a description and untick the “Delete Items” and “Delete Versions” permissions

Contribute no delete (7)

Scroll down and click on “Create”

Contribute no delete (8)

The permission level is created, go back to the “Site Permission” by clicking the “Permissions” link

Contribute no delete (9)

Select the “Members” group and click on “Edit User Permissions”

Contribute no delete (10)

Select only the “Contribute – No Delete” permission level and click on ok

Contribute no delete (11)

Now your members will see this in the ribbon when they select an item

Contribute no delete (12)

“Edit item” is accessible but “Delete Item” is greyed out.

Hoping it helps.

Christopher.

Quick Win : Allow multiple contributors on Drop-off Library items

win

Hello everyone,

Today in the Quick Win series, I will talk about a problem that may arise when working with the Content Organizer feature.

Problematic

As a reminder, the content organizer allows to classify a document based on rules. These rules are based on the metadata value and allow you to move the document to the right place.

This feature is really useful but has strange behavior.

When a person edits the properties of a document in the drop-off library and does not complete the information necessary to be classified, the document is no longer visible to other users!

Cause

When a document is added to the library, it naturally inherits permissions associated with that list.

0102

When a user edits the properties of this document, the document continues the process but remains in the drop-off library. However, an additional action is done by SharePoint => Break permissions, remove existing one and give access directly to the current user!

03

It has more than once happened that the business requirement is that several people can process a document, and potentially add each some information, before the document is finally classified.

Resolution

Several solutions are possible since this comes from a business need. In the first case, we could think of using several libraries with workflows to transfer from one library to another but it seems to me “overkill”.

I prefer to opt for the simple solution, keep the document in the drop-off library and prevent SharePoint from breaking the security! To do this, the simplest solution is to do it before it! Indeed, if the document has permissions broken, SharePoint no longer removes the permissions associated with the document!

To put this in place, SharePoint designer is our friend!

NB : I know that SharePoint Designer will not last long but currently it is a solution that works both On Premise and Online.

Steps

Create a SharePoint 2010 workflow

04

Use an Impersonation Step and remove the default step

05

Add Action « Replace List Item Permissions »

06

Give the contribution permission to the people who will use the list

07

Specify that the action should take place on the current item

08

Go to workflow settings

09

Configure the workflow to start automatically when updating a document

10.png

Publish workflow

11

When the data in a document are changed and submitted, the workflow will update the permissions with what you have specified

12

 

NB: Of course, once at destination the document will no longer have the specific permissions set in the drop-off.

Hoping this helps

Christopher