Today I’ll talk about the default access you can give to people using the “Share” functionality on site level.
When you share a site, depending on your permission on the current site, you will have one of the two following processes
Case 1: you don’t have the permission to give access.
During the share, you will see this screen.
And there is a new request for the site owner on the “Access Request” list
In this request, the site owner can choose another group or give direct access to the person.
Case 2: you have the permission to give access.
In this screen, you can see that you invite people to “EDIT”. You can choose another group or give direct access to the person.
What if I don’t want them to EDIT but to READ by default?
If you want to set another group as the default group for Share functionality, you can just specify the wanted group as the default group for the site.
- Go to “Site Settings” and click the “People and Groups”
- Select the group you want as default one
- Click on “Settings” and again on “Make Default Group”
When it’s done, if you share the site, you can see that the permission requested if the group you just specified
Note: The Share will only works if the target people doesn’t have access to the site. If you set the default group as “Members” and someone is already a “Visitor”, the share won’t ask for him to be added in the “Members” group.
Hoping this helps