Quick Win – Display template missing

win

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about something that is not quite clear in SharePoint (Yes… again!).

where are my dragons

WHERE ARE MY DRAGONS! …

 

euh, no, where are my Display Templates HTML files??

dtm01

 

When you want to customize a display template, all the “How to” that you can find on the internet mention that you must modify the HTML but not the JavaScript file. Well so…

When you go on a new site for the first time, sometimes those HTML files are not present! As always in SharePoint, when something is missing, let’s take a look at the features we can activate !

dtm02

With everything there, the “Search Server Web Parts and Templates” seams the best choice for me! Let’s add it and it should be ok…

 

dtm01

Well …no..

In fact, we need, again, to activate the Big Gun feature, namely SharePoint Server Publishing Infrastructure!

dtm03

And Voila!

dtm04

 

Really, with all the stuff that this feature provides, I don’t understand why it is not default activated.

 

Hoping this helps!

Christopher

Advertisements

Workflow Manager 1.0 Now Supported on Windows Server 2016 with CU4

SP2013

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about a great news that can interest those who works with SharePoint On-Premises.

I have a customer where the infrastructure team wanted to upgrade our entire server to the latest version as a part of our migration from SharePoint 2013 to SharePoint 2016.

Seems pretty cool to be up to date but they warn us about one little problem

 

Windows Server 2016 does not support Workflow manager… ouch

 

As a reminder, Workflow Manager was introduced with SharePoint 2013 to run the custom workflows out of the SharePoint. That’s how you were supposed to develop your new Visual Studio Workflow to use it.

Workflow manager introduced also the possibility to create SharePoint 2013 Workflow with SharePoint Designer.

So in the end, many people used it one way or another.

 

Not so long ago, the workflow team announce the good news, Workflow Manager Server 1.0 now supports the following platforms when used in a SharePoint Server 2016 environment.

  • .NET 4.6+ (when using Service Bus Server 1.1 with KB3086798)
  • Windows Server 2016
  • Windows 10 x64 (for development purposes)
  • SQL Server 2014 & SQL Server 2016

 

More info here : https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/workflowteam/2017/07/25/workflow-manager-1-0-now-supported-on-windows-server-2016-with-cu4/

 

Hoping this helps,

 

Christopher

Site settings links is missing

office365Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about a major change in site design with the modern UI, namely the case of the missing site settings links!!!

 

MissingSiteSettings1

 

If you look at the picture, you can see that the usual location of “Site Settings” was replaced by three links :

  • Site Information
  • Site Permissions
  • Change the look.

 

Those links open a panel providing a quick edit for those settings

Site Information

MissingSiteSettings2

Site Permissions 

MissingSiteSettings3

Change the look

MissingSiteSettings4

 

Let’s take another look at those screen, foreach you have a link on the bottom redirecting you to a more complete screen

Site Information can redirect you to ….

 

MissingSiteSettings5

Site Settings! (Gotcha!)

MissingSiteSettings8

Site Permissions will redirect you to …

 

MissingSiteSettings6

advance permissions settings

MissingSiteSettings9

Change the look redirect you to the full change the look page

MissingSiteSettings7

MissingSiteSettings10.png

 

Hoping this helps!

Christopher

Hide “Recent” link in classic mode

win

Hello everyone,

Today in the “Quick Win” section, I’ll talk about a small trick regarding “Recent” link in the navigation.

What is it?

The “Recent” link is a link added by SharePoint when you add a new app in your site and when you choose to NOT add it to the current navigation …

recent01.png

 

How to remove it?

Yeah, I really don’t know why Microsoft decided to add this feature, on most of my customer, when the navigation is defined, they don’t like to see it brutally changed without their permission.

First attempt to delete this annoying stuff, go to the navigation and click “Delete”. Yeah, it should work but…

If you don’t have the publishing infrastructure set on your site, you need to provide an url to the recent to be able to remove it (…) !

recent02

If you add a new app, the link gets back..

recent03

 

How to get rid of it?

First, I know my solution is not a wonderfull solution but it’s working as expected.   To do this, you will need to have the publishing infrastructure activated.

Create a SharePoint Group called “Recent Reader” and remove all the people from it.

recent04

Go to the navigation and apply an audience on the Recent link for the “Recent Reader” group.

recent05

 

Voila!

The link won’t be visible by anyone after that!

 

Hoping this helps!

 

Christopher

 

Fix endless crawl

SP2013

Hello everyone,

Last week I talk about a way to resolve endless crawl. Today I’ll talk about one of the possible cause.

In this case, the search configuration was to launch a full crawl every Saturday at 2AM.

searchindex01.png

Each time the full crawl was running endlessly while launching it manually was always a success.

I started to look on the error received during the crawl and saw nothing related (just some error on some pdf files indexation).

My next though was to think about a possible recycle of the application pool. I thought it was plan a 4AM so even if it causes some issue, some items should have been processed in the 2 hours between the start of the crawl and the recycle.

Looking at the configuration, I saw that the settings was set to 2AM too!

searchindex02.png

 

I switched the recycle time to 1AM and now everything is working fine.

 

Hoping this helps!

Christopher.

 

 

 

Crawl run endlessly without results

SP2013

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about an error which may occur with search on-premise.

When you have a lot a document and not a big farm, the crawl can take a long time, but sometimes it takes a looooooooooooooooooooooong time without any result!

Something like this

searchnotstopping1

As you see in this crawl log, it has been more than 16 hours without nothing (no errors, no successes, nothing…)

If that happens to you, I would suggest those 3 simple steps

Go to the content source and stop all crawl

searchnotstopping2

Open services and reset SPSearchHostController Service. 

Warning : Doing this will cause an short interruption of the search in your farm, some user can experience a “Something went wrong” message if they perform a search shortly after the reset. Do this during planified maintenance hour if the search is already in use.

searchnotstopping3.png

Go to the content source and start all crawl

searchnotstopping4

After that, you should get some result in the crawl log

searchnotstopping5

 

Hoping this helps

Christopher

Quick Win – Change default permission on site “Share”

win

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about the default access you can give to people using the “Share” functionality on site level.

When you share a site, depending on your permission on the current site, you will have one of the two following processes

Case 1: you don’t have the permission to give access.

During the share, you will see this screen.

01

And there is a new request for the site owner on the “Access Request” list

03

In this request, the site owner can choose another group or give direct access to the person.

04

 

05

Case 2: you have the permission to give access.

02

In this screen, you can see that you invite people to “EDIT”. You can choose another group or give direct access to the person.

 

What if I don’t want them to EDIT but to READ by default?

If you want to set another group as the default group for Share functionality, you can just specify the wanted group as the default group for the site.

For this

  1. Go to “Site Settings” and click the “People and Groups”
  2. Select the group you want as default one
  3. Click on “Settings” and again on “Make Default Group”

06

 

When it’s done, if you share the site, you can see that the permission requested if the group you just specified

07

 

Note: The Share will only works if the target people doesn’t have access to the site. If you set the default group as “Members” and someone is already a “Visitor”, the share won’t ask for him to be added in the “Members” group.

 

Hoping this helps

Christopher.