No such host is known

SP2013

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about an issue with BCS. It happened to me to see the following error message by clicking on an external list.

« Unable to render the data. If the problem persists, contact your web server adminisrator. Correlation Id: XXXXXXXX

Looking at the logs I saw a strange error message:“Possibly the host name ‘ip, port’ is invalid and it’s could not be found. The exception is System.Net.Sockets.SocketException (0X80004005): No such host is known at System.Net.Dns.InternalGetHostByName …

Weird.

The BCS was created using SharePoint Designer and I can see the tables in it, so why an error “no such host is known” via SharePoint?

After digging a while I finally found the solution. The problem came from the Secure Store! Indeed, my user account was not specified in the “Members” section of the secure store!

Explanation:

Using SharePoint Designer, I could see the connection because I specified to use the credentials stored in the secure store, but my user does not belong to the Secure Store “members”, so when I browse the list in SharePoint, it does not use these credentials!

A stupid error, but an error message, once again, not very useful …

Hope that helps

Christopher.

This entry was posted in SharePoint 2010, SharePoint 2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

