Current user is not a Farm Administrator

SP2013

Hello everyone,

Today I’ll talk about a strange error that I recently had. When I tried to activate the feature “SharePoint Server Standard Web Application features” with a farm admin account via the central administration UI, I received the error message « provisioning did not succeed failed to provision the scheduling job definitions ».

Looking a little closer to the logs, I saw the error « the sppersistedobject could not be updated because the current user is not a farm administrator »

Trying unsuccessfully with several “farm admin” account, I switched to Powershell. In fact, activate the feature via PowerShell ran without any problems (with the same user)!

Reminder : activate the feature via PowerShell is done via the command « Enable-SPFeature » (more info there : http://technet.microsoft.com/fr-fr/library/ff607803.aspx).

I remain skeptical about why this error message. I came across several sites describing a PowerShell script to use to resolve this issue (as here : http://unclepaul84.blogspot.com/2010/06/sppersistedobject-xxxxxxxxxxx-could-not.html) However, this script does not have worked for me (even after iisreset) and this is the kind of obscure manipulation that I would not allow myself in production.

I take this post to share a little trick. Know that you can easily retrieve the ID of a feature through the browser, for this just use the “developer tools” of Internet Explorer (or the equivalent in other browsers), tools accessible when pressing F12.

1

If you select “activate” (or deactivate) button and look at the “ID” of the div covering the button parameter, this parameter contains the id of the feature!

Hope this helps !

Christopher.

This entry was posted in SharePoint 2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

