Custom development not found in production


Hello everyone,

Today I want to talk to the new SharePoint developers who started with Visual Studio 2010.

Browsing the forums, I often come to see messages such as: “I ​​do not understand, my development work properly on my development environment, but after my wsp deployed in production, I do not see my new webpart / my new controls / etc .. ‘

Visual Studio 2010 has integrated functionality that although it can be useful for people who are new, I abhor, namely the automatic activation of features!

If you check your project properties, you can find the property “Active Deployment Configuration”

When this property is set to “Default” (as it is by default), when you deploy via Visual Studio, it automatically activates the features existing in your project on your development site!

If it is convenient not to have to go through the manual activation, it has a double disadvantage for me:

1) Developer who is not familiar with the deployment mechanism finds himself lost when deploying his package on another environment because he doesn’t know and / or do not think about the features activation!

2) For delicate developments such as content types, if you reactivate the feature while you have some content, you may have a nice error message saying that the content type ID is already present.

To avoid automatic activation by Visual Studio, you can put this property in “No Activation”

Think about it.

Christopher.

Leave a Reply

